Central and Eastern Europe, Diplomacy

Independence day of Armenia

On September 21, 1991, the people of Armenia declared their independence from the Soviet Union.

On August 23, 1990, Armenian Supreme Council adopted the Declaration of State Sovereignty of Armenia. It abolished the Armenian SSR and adopted the establishment of the Republic of Armenia.

A year later, on September 21, 1991, by the decision of the Supreme Council of Armenia, a referendum was held. Citizens of Armenia took part in referendum and 94.99% of citizens voted for the withdrawal of the country from Soviet Republic and the establishment of an independent statehood. Levon Ter-Petrosyan was elected the first president of Armenia in November 1991.

This is the second independence of Armenia. The Armenian National Council declared the independence of Armenia on 28 May 1918.  This republic was then taken over by the USSR in 1920.

Our Central and Eastern Europe Center congratulates Armenia on the independence and sends our best wishes to the Ambassador of the Republic of Armenia in the Hague Mr Tigran Balayan.

Photo: Ambassador of the Republic of Armenia in the Hague Mr Tigran Balayan and Beata Bruggeman-Sekowska ©communications-unlimited.nl

Read also:

Related Posts