Central and Eastern Europe, International Journalism and PR, Tourism

18 Polish works nominated for the Mies van der Rohe Award 2015

18 Polish works nominated for the Mies van der Rohe Award 2015

18 Polish works have been nominated for the European Mies van der Rohe Award 2015. The whole list of works can be found here:


Here you can find all the nominated works from Europe:


Rather than an event that happens every two years, the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award is a continuous process focused on how architects are thinking and working in Europe today.

For each two-year period proposals are submitted for the Jury’s consideration by a group of independent experts, the member associations of the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE), the other European national architects’ associations and the Advisory Committee. The Jury members meet on two occasions. In their first session they focus on the evaluation of all the nominated works and making a selection of shorlisted and finalist works. They visit the finalist works and immediately afterwards in their second meeting they make their decisions about the Prize Winner and theEmerging Architect Special Mention.

The award process culminates in a catalogue publication and travelling exhibition that features the works chosen by the Jury – the Prize Winner, Special Mention, the finalists and the shortlisted works. All of the works nominated are available for consultation on the Prize database, transforming each edition into a biennial anthology of some of the best work being constructed in Europe.

The idea for a prize that would recognise and commend excellence in European architecture was proposed to the European Parliament by MP Xavier Rubert de Ventós. On April 28 1987 – just under a year after the reconstruction of the Pavilion was completed – an agreement was signed between European Commissioner Carlo Ripa di Meana and Barcelona Mayor Pasqual Maragall to launch the ‘Mies van der Rohe Award of the European Communities’, with the first biennial edition being held in 1988 as the ‘Mies van der Rohe Award for European Architecture’.

In 2000 the Fundació Mies van der Rohe submitted the model of the Mies van der Rohe Award – with the addition of the Emerging Architect Special Mention that recognises the work of young professionals starting out on their careers – in response to the call for proposals by the European Commission for the ‘European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture’. Upon acceptance of the Fundació’s proposal, in 2001, the Mies van der Rohe Award became the official architecture prize of the European Union.


Photo: Museum of the History of Polish Jews

Source and Photo: Miesarch


Leave a Reply