Central and Eastern Europe, International Journalism and PR

Cabinet of Mr Donald Tusk, President of the European Council

Cabinet of Mr Donald Tusk, President of the European Council

Today the handover ceremony between the outgoing President Herman Van Rompuy and the new President Donald Tusk took place.

Herman Van Rompuy in his speech said: ”It is a president coming from a country that, 25 years and a few weeks ago, was separated from the Union by the Iron Curtain. Now the favourite son of Poland is at the helm of the most important political institution of our Union. It really is a special moment. […] I am confident that the European Council is in good hands, in the hands of a man of experience and wisdom, a true European, an open mind and an open heart.”


Donald Tusk stressed out the importance of sucess of Europe. He mentioned four priorities:

1. Protecting main values, such as solidarity, freedom, unity against the threats to the Union.

2. Determination to end economic crisis.

3. The European Union must be strong internationally

4. The relations between Europe and the United States of Amercia are the backbone of the community of the democracies.


Donald Tusk also presented his cabinet.


Donald Tusk's cabinet


Head of Cabinet


Piotr Serafin

Strategy, coordination and management of the Cabinet



Deputy Head of Cabinet


André Gillissen

Strategic support to the Head of Cabinet

Coordination of European Council meetings


Senior Political and Communication Advisor of the President


Paweł Graś

Relations with the European Parliament, national parliaments and political parties


Horizontal Team


Katarzyna Smyk – Advisor

Horizontal coordination

Correspondence of the President

Human resources management


Paweł Karbownik – Advisor

Strategic agenda planning


Foreign Policy Team


Riina Kionka – Chief Foreign Policy Advisor

Management of the Foreign Policy team

Coordination of external policies

European Council programming on foreign affairs

Foreign Affairs Council


Carl Hartzell – Senior Advisor


Eastern Partnership countries

Central Asia

Western Balkans


Non-EU Western Europe

Eastern Partnership horizontal




Zuzana Michalcová Šutiaková – Advisor

Common Security and Defence Policy


Latin America and the Caribbean

Asia and the Pacific


Council of Europe

Human Rights

Economic Team


Jean-Pierre Vidal – Chief Economic Advisor

Management of the Economic Affairs team

Economic and Monetary Affairs, including G7/G8 and G20


João Nogueira Martins – Advisor

European Semester

Macroeconomic developments in the EU and in the euro area

Programme countries


Alfredo Panarella – Advisor   

Investment and growth policies (including, digital agenda, R&D, education, migration)

Financial sector policies


Christina Jordan – Advisor

Economic and Monetary Union

Employment and social affairs

Tax policy


Energy Union


Łukasz Koliński – Special Advisor on Energy Union

Energy union


Multiannual financial framework and annual budget

Press and Communication Team


Preben Aamann – Spokesperson of the President

Coordination of Press & Communications Team


Hugo Brady – Speechwriter of the President

Speeches, articles

Think Tanks


Luuk van Middelaar – Speechwriter of the President

Speeches, articles

Think Tanks



Private Office


Łukasz Broniewski – Head of Private Office

Management visits, summits and travels of the President

Relations with entrepreneurs and social partners, the Committee of Regions and the Economic and Social Committee


Stefan Smith – Personal Assistant to the President

Agenda and assistance of the President

Personal correspondence of the President


Emilia Surowska


Administration management of summits, visits and travels of the President

Liaison officer with security, protocol, prevention


Tiina Kytola

Correspondence of the President

Registration of incoming and outgoing mail



Secretariat of the Cabinet


Louisa Pincott – Personal Assistant to Piotr Serafin

Pilar Chaves – Personal Assistant to Andre Gillissen

Fabienne Geyzen – Assistant of the Horizontal Team

Miriam Cunill Rafael – Assistant to the Chief Foreign Policy Advisor

Sabina Bengtsson – Assistant to the Chief Economic Advisor and to the Special Advisor on Energy Union

Anita Gebruers – Assistant of the Economic Team

Marie Betavatzis – Assistant of the Press and Communication Team

Beata Turska – Assistant of the Press and Communication Team

Martine Withofs – Administrative Assistant – Human Resources and Training (COFO)



You can find the video of the ceremony and the speeches here:



The Speech of Donald Tusk can be found here:

Speech Tusk


The Speech of Herman Van Rompuy can be found here:

Herman Van Rompuy


Photo: http://www.european-council.europa.eu/the-president

Leave a Reply